Possession or distribution of an illegal substance can have serious consequences for Wyoming college students. If your child faces these charges, he or she has the right to legal defense.
Review the possible legal and educational penalties for drug convictions in Wyoming.
Each college and university has its own policies about controlled substance use on campus. For example, students at the University of Wyoming arrested for drugs or alcohol may:
- Lose the opportunity to participate in intercollegiate sports
- Be required to attend substance abuse awareness education sessions
- Receive criminal charges for property crimes or injuries to others that occur while under the influence
- Have to pay fines
- Face suspension or dismissal from the university
The university encourages students struggling with substance use to visit the counseling center for assistance and referrals.
Possession of small amounts of most controlled substances carries a fine of $1,000 in Wyoming for a first-time offense. It can increase to $5,000 for the third offense. For increased amounts, the court can order fines of $10,000 to $15,000 depending on the type of substance.
Even small possession charges can result in up to a year in jail in Wyoming, or up to five years for a third offense. Possession of higher amounts of Schedule I, II or III drugs carries a potential sentence of seven to 10 years.
If your student struggles with substance use disorder, he or she may qualify for probation through a court-supervised treatment program. Your attorney can ask for a referral from the county court.