Like other states, Wyoming takes driving under the influence extremely seriously. Even a first offense could result in steep penalties, including jail time.
Charges could be even more severe if an individual has received multiple DUIs or if a DUI incident involved certain aggravating factors. In this case, an arrest could lead to a felony conviction.
In Wyoming, a first DUI offense is a misdemeanor. In addition to suspension or revocation of a driver’s license, penalties may include a substantial fine and time in jail. The individual may also have to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle he or she operates for a certain period of time.
A second or third DUI conviction within 10 years may mean even steeper penalties, including higher fines, a longer probation period and a mandatory minimum number of days in jail and/or attending a substance abuse treatment program.
When a DUI becomes a felony offense
A fourth DUI within 10 years may lead to a felony conviction. Penalties may include several years in prison and/or a fine of several thousand dollars. An individual may also face a felony conviction for a first, second or third DUI if the incident caused severe injury or death.
Even a first DUI conviction can result in a criminal record that poses a barrier to employment, housing and education. With a felony conviction, the stakes are even higher. Those facing charges should know that a strong defense may help to minimize the impact of a DUI arrest on their futures and their families.