The Wyoming Controlled Substances Act categorizes street and prescription drugs into five “schedules” based on their potential for harm. If you receive drug possession charges in Wyoming, penalties vary based on the substance category, the amount and other circumstances of the case.
Before facing this type of court date, understand the state’s potential legal consequences for a drug possession conviction.
The first penalty tier applies to all controlled substances in Schedules I through IV. If convicted, you could receive up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000 for possession of:
- Up to 0.3 grams of LSD (acid) or any controlled substance in liquid form
- Up to 0.5 g crack cocaine
- Up to 3 g drugs in capsule, powder, crystal or pill form
- Up to 3 oz of a plant-based controlled substance
If you have prior drug possession offenses, the court can order up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
For possession of Schedule I, II or III drugs that exceed the quantities listed above, a conviction can result in up to seven years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. For methamphetamine and other narcotics, the maximum fine increases to $15,000.
If you have more than the established amount of a Schedule IV substance, you could receive up to two years in prison and a fine of up to $2,500. For a Schedule V substance, the penalties include up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.