What are the Penalties for DUI in Wyoming?

What are the Penalties for DUI in Wyoming?

| Jul 14, 2020 | Firm News |

Motorists in Wyoming can receive a charge of driving under the influence with measured blood alcohol content above 0.08%. An officer can also make a DUI arrest if the person displays obvious drug or alcohol impairment.

If you face these charges, learn about the potential penalties for DUI conviction in Wyoming.

First offense

If the person has no prior DUI convictions, he or she could receive:

  • License suspension for 90 days
  • Fines of up to $750
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Mandatory substance abuse assessment
  • Possible court-ordered substance abuse monitoring or treatment
  • Up to three years probation

For BAC over 0.15%, the state also requires the use of an ignition interlock device at the driver’s own expense for six months. In lieu of an IID, the judge can order participation in a 24/7 sobriety monitoring program.

Second offense

A second-time DUI in Wyoming carries penalties of:

  • One-year license suspension with one-year IID requirement
  • $200 to $750 in fines
  • At least seven days and up to six months in jail
  • Mandatory substance abuse assessment
  • Possible court-ordered substance abuse monitoring or treatment
  • Up to three years probation

Third offense

For a third DUI offense in Wyoming, possible legal penalties include:

  • Three-year license suspension with two-year IID requirement
  • $750 to $3,000 in fines
  • At least 30 days and up to six months in jail
  • Mandatory substance abuse assessment
  • Possible court-ordered substance abuse monitoring or treatment
  • Possible court-ordered inpatient substance abuse treatment
  • Up to three years probation

Some DUI offenses result in aggravated penalties. For example, if the DUI incident causes serious bodily injury to another person, the driver could receive felony charges. A conviction carries up to 10 years in jail, three-year license suspension and $2,000 to $5,000 in fines for the first offense. The second offense carries 20 years in jail. For driving under the influence with a passenger under 16, penalties can include $750 in fines and up to a year in jail.