Wyoming parents who are going through a divorce might be understandably worried about their financial stability. From dealing with things like living on a smaller income to maintaining the marital home or family vehicle, parents might be most worried about the costs of raising a child. Child support generally helps parents with primary custody balance the daily expenses involved with child-rearing, but sometimes their exes refuse to pay.
This is the situation one woman, who is now 74 years old, found herself in almost 50 years ago. After she and her husband filed for divorce in 1969, her ex was ordered to pay $210 monthly in child support for their 3-year-old daughter. The order included a reduction in monthly support after two years, dropping the amount to only $160 a month. However, the father never paid. Instead he moved out of the country and had at least two more children.
After the woman discovered that her ex had moved back to the United States she also found out that her state did not have a statute of limitations on back child support. She went before a judge to request that her ex-husband be ordered to pay up for the child support he should have paid all those years ago. The judge agreed and, after the parties reached an agreement, ordered that he pay the original $30,000 he should have paid plus 10 percent interest, coming to a final total of $150,000.
While Wyoming does not have a statute of limitations on child support either, parents with primary custody do not have to wait 50 years before seeking back child support. If a person’s ex is shirking his or her child support responsibilities, it is possible to go before a family court judge and request enforcement of an existing order. Conversely, parents who are struggling with the monthly costs can also petition for a modification that would make their payments more affordable. Either way, acting quickly is usually preferable to waiting.